HB28 – Her Bodyguard

Tiffany’s arm gave her a lot of grief the next morning. Unable to tolerate the pain, she popped the painkillers prescribed by the doctor along with breakfast brought to her room by Soomin. After breakfast, Tiffany visited Taeyeon’s room but her bodyguard was still asleep so Tiffany approached her father instead.

Answers. With her energy restored after a good night’s sleep (surprisingly uninterrupted by nightmares) and a good breakfast, Tiffany wanted answers. Answers to all the questions that she had burned to ask since last night but was unable to because of sheer fatigue.

Her father was in his study as usual. Eyes looking out at the world through reading glasses, grey hair combed neatly even though there wasn’t anybody to meet. Sitting behind the desk, he was dressed for work as though he were in the office instead of his own home—a little trait that Tiffany liked to tease him with.

“Are you feeling better this morning?” he asked when she entered and sat on the leather chair across the table from him. “Have you had your breakfast?”

“My arm was very painful when I woke up, but I ate breakfast and took painkillers, so it’s okay now.”

“Good. I hired a nurse to come on call to change your dressing and also to help to check on Taeyeon. She’ll be here in the late afternoon.”

“Sounds good. But I’m here for something else.”

Her father clasped his hands together. “For Taeyeon?”

Tiffany nodded. “I want to know why. I want answers. Real answers, Daddy.”

Her father sighed. “I’m really sorry. You have no idea how much my heart ached when I got you back after the kidnap. Now I feel even worse after what happened last night.”

Tiffany shook her head. “You don’t look sorry at all, Daddy. You’re all business as usual this morning. Back to your dollars and cents.”

“I’m trying to make sure this doesn’t happen again, my dear. I’m doing my best to think of a way.”

“Why didn’t you tell me?”

“Tiffany, the last thing I want for you to be is worried and afraid. That’s why I convinced Taeyeon to protect you in a covert operation. She was very hard to persuade—my offer to pay her three times more didn’t even work. But I begged her to help me and she finally agreed to continue protecting you—albeit from afar.”

“Why are they so bent on harming us? They wanted to kill us both last night, right?”

“Tomorrow is when I stand trial to testify. I didn’t think they would come after you anymore since the evidence had already been submitted and arrests had been made. And to tell you the truth, last night was more about them trying to silence me. You were not the primary target.”

“Is that why you doubled the security in our home?”

“Yes, you’re right.”

“But I’m the last to know all this. I feel like a fool right now.”

Her father heaved a deep sigh. “My dear, this sort of thing is best kept secret. I didn’t tell you about Taeyeon because it would compromise her too. It was best that you didn’t know so that everything will look as it was. Nobody knew that Taeyeon was still protecting you. Nobody but the two of us. That was the best way.”

“What happens after you testify tomorrow?”

“Once I’ve testified, there’s nothing they can do. Last night was their last ditch effort to prevent me from appearing in court tomorrow. Now, with the alarm raised, my security has tripled with the police on high alert. So for today, I hope you will stay home to rest, along with Taeyeon.”

“I’ve called in to tell Songji to take over my duties. I’m not going to work for the rest of this week.”

“Good, good. Please stay home to recuperate. This first week will be most painful for Taeyeon too. She will feel better with your company.”

“Naturally. I asked Taeyeon to stay with us because I want to keep her company.”

“Is there something going on between you and Taeyeon?”

Tiffany turned her nose away. “Why should I tell you? You can keep your secrets and I’ll keep mine.”

Her father chuckled. “Alright, alright. As you wish. Just, try to stay home till I have testified tomorrow. They might just try one last time before I get to court tomorrow, even though I don’t think they have anymore ammunition left.”

Tiffany nodded. “I’ll stay home with Taeyeon. But you’ll be alright, won’t you? I don’t want to lose you just because of this stupid honourable moral thing you’re doing.”

“It’s not stupid, my dear. And I’m not trying to be honourable. But just think of the hundreds of people working with the tainted fabrics. They will fall ill with diseases caused by the tainted fabrics, and what will happen to their families? Innocent children will lose their mothers or fathers. Do you think I could live with a peace of mind, knowing that I did nothing to help them?”

Tiffany was silent for a long time. Then, she finally raised her eyes to meet her father’s. “Is it because of Mummy?”

Her father sighed again. “Partly. Yes. You lost your mother at a tender age when you needed her most. And I regret that I was so insufficient in filling up the void left behind by her. So when I think of those families—dependent on the income earned by the people we hire to process our fabrics—I cannot bring myself to ignore it.”

“Daddy, I don’t think you were insufficient for me at all.”

“I wasn’t?”

Tiffany shook her head, smiling through tears that had welled up without her knowing. “I know you gave me extra love to make up for Mummy. I know you tried very hard to be both my mum and dad. So you don’t have to feel bad about it.”

“My darling girl . . .”

Tiffany stood up with her father and they walked around the desk between them to embrace each other. Tears flowed down her cheeks and when they finally parted, she saw that her father was tearing too.

“I’m sorry, Daddy. I’m sorry for being rude to you.”

“It’s alright, my dear. You’re still my favourite girl.”

“What about Michelle and Leo?”

Her father laughed. “Don’t tell them you’re my favourite baby girl.”

Tiffany grinned. “I won’t.”

¤¤¤

 Tiffany flew in to a rage when she saw Taeyeon, freshly showered and all, in the dining room. “Why are you out of your room? They’re supposed to send breakfast to you in bed!”

Taeyeon looked up, fork and scrambled egg in mid-air. “Walking around is good for me,” she said and proceeded to stuff the egg into her mouth.

“Are you really alright? Are you in pain? And why do you have a towel around your shoulders?”

“I took painkillers for the pain. The towel is to hide the fact that I’m not wearing a bra.”

“Oh.” Tiffany took the seat next to Taeyeon. “I’m staying in today. Daddy said it’s best we don’t go out today, so I was thinking we could watch a movie and do some online shopping.”

“What about me?”

“What about you.”

“Why don’t you ask me what I wanna do?”

“Do you hate movies?”

“No.”

“Do you hate online shopping?”

“No.”

“So we’re good.”

Suddenly, Taeyeon closed her eyes and pressed her lips together.

“Oh shit. Are you in pain?” Tiffany asked, alarmed. “What’s wrong?”

Taeyeon shook her head. “Nothing. Just trying not to laugh.”

“Why?” Tiffany looked around the table. “What’s funny?”

“You.”

“Me? Why am I funny?”

“It’s too hard to explain,” Taeyeon answered with a smile. “Anyway, a movie and online shopping sounds fun, so let’s do it.”

“Great!” Tiffany exclaimed happily. “It’s gonna be fun.”

¤¤¤

Hours later, Tiffany was huddled up with Taeyeon on her bed in her bedroom, facing the widescreen propped up on the wall opposite her bed. They had been watching an animated movie and the ending tugged on her heartstrings. Trying her best not to cry, Tiffany looked at Taeyeon and saw tears rolling down her cheeks. “Are you crying because of the movie or are you in a lot of pain?”

“Movie,” Taeyeon whispered.

Tiffany giggled as she used the towel hanging over Taeyeon’s shoulders to dab the woman’s tears. “You don’t have to hold back around me. Just cry.”

“I could say the same to you.”

Tiffany pouted. “Shut up and watch the movie.”

Taeyeon turned and smiled at Tiffany. Lifting a hand without turning her body, Taeyeon used a thumb to wipe a tear that had escaped the dam. “Admit it, you’re dying to bawl your eyes out over the boy and dinosaur’s friendship.”

“It’s just so sad that the boy had to leave,” Tiffany sniffed.

“But the friendship they share will never leave their hearts.”

Tiffany stared at Taeyeon. “You’re cheesier than I thought.”

Taeyeon grinned. “Which makes me even more attractive in your eyes.”

“If you weren’t injured I would smack you for saying that.”

“You should stop being in denial about how much you like me.”

“Stop it or I’m throwing you out.”

“You wouldn’t throw out a person who has a broken rib.”

“Piss me off and I will.”

“Well, glad to know I mean so little to you.”

Alarmed by Taeyeon’s sudden drop in tone, Tiffany turned to say she was only joking but then she saw the contorted face of a woman trying to hold in her laughter and she smacked Taeyeon’s thigh hard, making her groan. “I hate you.”

“You gotta give an injured woman more love than this.”

“How much love do you need?”

“I want all the love you can give,” Taeyeon replied with gleaming eyes. “But not for the next four or five weeks. I’ll let you know when my body is ready for it.”

Tiffany bit her lip. Taeyeon could be so shameless sometimes but she was going to let Taeyeon have the last laugh. “Don’t take too long. My body is impatient.”

Taeyeon’s shit-eating grin is almost obnoxious. “I know that. I know that very well.”

¤¤¤

After dinner, Tiffany brought Taeyeon back up to her room to do some online shopping. Taeyeon wasn’t overly enthusiastic when Tiffany insisted on buying her new sets of clothes and pyjamas.

“I don’t need all these things.”

“You need them since you’re staying here for the next few weeks.”

“We could just get my stuff from my place.”

“Which means you have to carry heavy stuff. The doctor said you shouldn’t do things like that until you’ve recovered.”

“But what will I do with all this new stuff after I recover?”

Tiffany looked Taeyeon straight in her eyes. “You can leave them here. You’ll stay over here with me sometimes too, right?”

“I can’t let you pay for everything and I’m out of work for the next month so I shouldn’t be spending so much.”

“Oh, don’t worry about it. Daddy will continue to pay you for the next month.”

“No, no, no. I can’t accept it.”

“You got injured on the job. Daddy said it’s only fair that he pays you since you can’t get a new contract because of this.”

“But—”

“Shut up and choose a colour. Oh, never mind. I’ll just choose black.”

“Wait, what in the world are you buying for me?”

“Lingerie,” Tiffany drawled, pulling out her pseudo-French accent.

“Tiffany, you know I’m on painkillers so I don’t feel the pain as much but it really hurts when I laugh, so please don’t make me laugh.”

“This is nice. Let’s get this.” Tiffany moved the mouse to click on a sheer nightie that revealed more than it covered but Taeyeon’s hand clamped over hers, preventing her from doing so.

“I’m not wearing that in your house.”

“Why not?”

“Your father lives here too, remember?”

“You can wear it when you’re in my room.”

“Tiffany, no. I’m here to recuperate, not to seduce you.”

“What about after you recuperate?”

“After I recuperate . . . you’ll come over to my place and I’ll wear something sexier than that for you.”

“Really? I’ll hold you to that promise.”

“It’s a promise.”

“Will you still be my bodyguard after you recuperate?”

“I’m not for it, to be honest. It’s better to keep my love life and work apart.”

“Daddy said he won’t ask you to take the job if you don’t want to.”

“I know, we spoke just before dinner.”

Tiffany sighed. “I’m gonna miss having you as my bodyguard.”

“I’m surprised you’re not protesting against it to get your way.”

“Hey, I’m know when some things have to end. I won’t force you to be my bodyguard but I wish you wouldn’t take up the most dangerous jobs.” Tiffany clutched Taeyeon’s arm, feeling a stab of unease as she spoke. “I don’t want you to get hurt again. It might be worse the next time. And I won’t be there to save you with cold wax strips.”

Taeyeon chuckled and winced. “Oh my God. The cold wax strips on that guy’s face. Changwon told me the guy was crying by the time they managed to get the strips off. And he lost half of his eyebrows.”

Tiffany laughed out loud. “Really?”

Taeyeon nodded. “Changwon called to update me on the case. He said they ‘fessed up pretty quick after he threatened to put more strips on them but I think he was joking. Maybe.”

“So, will you think about it?”

Taeyeon smiled. “I’ll think about it.”

¤¤¤

The next day went by too quickly for Tiffany’s taste. From the minute she woke up with Taeyeon next to her, to hour of the bathing she helped Taeyeon with, every moment was pure bliss for Tiffany. She couldn’t remember a time when she found this much joy in spending time with a person who she started off hating and ended up loving.

It was dinner time when her father walked into the dining room just as Tiffany was feeding Taeyeon a carrot. Unperturbed, she continued to push the carrot into Taeyeon’s open mouth. Taeyeon, on the other hand, blushed furiously and pushed her hand away before greeting him.

“Good evening, Taeyeon. Are you enjoying dinner?” he asked, eyes twinkling with amusement.

“Dinner is very good. Thank you, Mr. Hwang.”

“You should thank the cook. She’s very good.”

Tiffany nodded in agreement. “Dawun is a very good cook.” Then, turning to her father, she asked, “Did everything go as planned, Daddy?”

Her father smiled and nodded. “I testified as planned and there’s a lot of press coverage on this. It will be much harder for them to do anything to me now, even if they want to. But as it is, they have themselves to worry about. The prosecution found a lot of evidence against them. Enough to build a case even without my testimony. So I doubt if they’ll be interested in me after this.”

“That’s very good to hear, Mr. Hwang.”

He smiled at Taeyeon. “Don’t you find it tiresome to call me in such a formal way? You’re my daughter’s saviour and good friend. Don’t stand on ceremony when you’re in my home. Just call me Uncle Hwang. Or Papa Hwang, if you like.”

A giant smile found its way onto Tiffany’s face and she took Taeyeon’s hand, squeezing it in happiness. “Papa Hwang sounds good, right, Taeyeon?”

Taeyeon blinked and quivered. “Er, maybe Uncle Hwang. For now.”

Tiffany’s father simply smiled and nodded. “Good. That sounds so much better.”

¤¤¤

After dinner, Tiffany headed up to her bedroom to choose another movie to watch for the night while Taeyeon met with her father in his study. When Taeyeon finally returned, she helped the woman to change into her pyjamas.

“So what did you talk about?”

“The future.”

“Huh?”

“He asked if I wanted to continue working with his security team.”

Tiffany stilled. “And?”

“I told him I’m not likely to accept his offer.”

Tiffany pouted. “Would it really be that bad if you worked for Daddy?”

Taeyeon shook her head. “Of course not. But there’s a big world out there that I still wanna explore. I wanna try more jobs and experience different things first.”

“Isn’t every security job the same?”

“Of course not. Every client is different. They have different needs. And to tell you the truth, Changwon offered me something too.”

“What did he offer you?”

“I can’t talk about it yet but I’ll be meeting him when I’m better to discuss details. I’ll tell you more when I can.”

“So it’s pretty much a definite no over here.”

“I’m sorry, Tiffany. I hope you understand.”

Tiffany wanted to hug Taeyeon but settled for an arm squeeze instead. “I don’t but I won’t force you.”

“Wow, is this the Tiffany that I know? What did you do with the girl who always wants her way?”

Tiffany pinched Taeyeon’s butt in retaliation, making the injured bodyguard yelp and wince. “Don’t make me sound like some dictator or tyrant.”

“Okay, okay,” said Taeyeon as she rubbed her butt. “I’m sorry. You’re the most understanding and loving girlfriend in the world.”

“Yeah, of course I am,” said Tiffany as she moved in for a kiss. “I’m the hottest girlfriend you’ll ever have. Don’t you forget that.”

Taeyeon was smiling into the kiss and after a rousing lip locking exchange, she leaned back. “I won’t forget. A humble bodyguard like me won’t ever forget.”

Tiffany grinned and draped her arms around Taeyeon’s waist carefully. “You’re my bodyguard forever.”

“Yes, I’m your bodyguard. I promise to guard your body so nobody can touch it but me.”

“You and your glib tongue.”

Taeyeon simply grinned and leaned closer. “What about my tongue, Fany baby?”

“Shut up and kiss me, bodyguard.”

“Right away, baby.”

Tiffany closed her eyes as soft lips took hers in and made sweet love to her. Her toes curled and she smiled into the deep kisses of endless passion. Only Taeyeon could make her feel this way.

Her bodyguard.

¤¤¤

Thanks for giving me so much love and support for this story!
I can’t believe this story started because of a rather casual moment on Twitter that blossomed into a 28-episode long journey xD This story was a lot of fun to write and judging by the responses, I think you had your fun reading it too.
After this, I’ll resume writing FSOP2 which has been on hiatus for a really long time now. But progress is likely to be slower, not only because of the story world, also due to the fact that I will be travelling very soon and will have a lot less time to write.
In the meantime, take care and stay safe! ❤

48 thoughts on “HB28 – Her Bodyguard

  1. Care for a season 2? It doesn’t have to be soon, really. I just wanna know if there’s a chance that you’ll make a 2nd season or a somewhat similar/related story?

    I really can’t get enough of Bodyguard Taeyeon and Richgirl Tiffany.

    1. Extending the story wouldnt be too hard, just that it would take like a whole new problem and maybe another 20 episodes to write properly.

      My main issue is with time. If only I had more of it. After FSOP2, there’s Deal Breaker and many more ideas in my head. So we’ll see.

  2. I’ve been a silent reader for quite a while because of last sem work loads. I just caught up with your stories lately. This story is really good author!! To think that this was just from a moment in twitter proves that you’re a really good author! I enjoyed every part of this story.
    Your Deal Breaker is also really good author and I hope you can update that alongside the FSOP2!! Take your time and enjoy your travel author!!

  3. I can’t believe it’s already the ending. 😦 But the good thing is at least Tiffany who always gets her way grow up a bit. And by Tayeon’s words, Tiffany was a better girlfriend than I had expected. Ppaniyaaah, I miss you! >.<
    Thank you, AK! For another great story. I'm waiting for the day your stories will be printed and published. I'll make sure to have a copy when that happens. ^^

  4. Im a bit late but thank you so much for the story AK~❤ enjoying it so much 🙂

    Oh wow. I see what you did there. Soomin, Songji and Dawun hahaha im waiting where’s Soju but nahh lol

  5. I just caught up lately bcs of univ life and i gotta say you’re awesome as always AK. Love how the story paced, not too fast or slow and end with satisfied ending.
    Btw, have fun on your travelling and hopefully it’ll bring more inspiration to your writing 😛😂
    Brb reading your other stories i’ve been missed 😂😂😂

    Ps: i finish this story in one go and that’s a wow journey for me 😊 a stress relief~ thank you 🖒

This is where you get to say something :D

